New IP’s for Everybody!

For those who don’t know, an IP address is like a telephone number and it should be because the phone companies were the original providers of Internet service. Instead of using dashes, the Internet uses dots. So while the phone number for the Fat Savage might be 1-340-555-1212, the IP would be 208.96.40.152

To find the Phone number for Mr. Fat Savage, you either call information or look it up in the phone book and God forbid you get a new number, it can disrupt your service for days. The Internet is similar, except every time you type in fatsavage.wordpress.com, your browser causes my number to be looked up in a name server. This goes on everyday for every address you type. Having been on line for a decade, I find it can take days of disrupted service when you change companies and have to get a new IP address unless you have a Dynamic IP address which few large companies uses.

So I was very surprised after publishing my blogs about being hosted by Level 3 to find out all the overnight changes.

Overnight all of the following changes were made. The reason I noticed is that I was on an older version of the WordPress server which did not have feed stats so I couldn’t track my regular subscribers. I believe WordPress updates everything so I doubt I’m on the WordPress system.

Fatsavage Old IP 64.157.185.212 Level 3 Communications
New IP 208.96.40.150 Servepath LLC

Waistlost Old IP 71.19.200.100 Netli Inc.
New IP 208.96.40.150 Servepath LLC

Greenlighton Old IP 64.157.185.212 Level 3 Communications
New IP 72.232.101.42 Layered Technologies

Themiddlemanager Old IP 64.157.185.212 Level 3 Communications
New IP 72.232.101.40 Layered Technologies

Iggybaby Old IP 64.157.185.212 Level 3 Communications
New IP 72.232.2.54 Layered Technologies

On Day 2 after the blog about being on Level 3 they finally got the changes straight.

Waistloss has joined themiddlemanager at the 72.232.101.4X number, Seditious Mike E has replaced Iggybaby at the above IP and iggybaby has joined me as a threat top the nation at 208.96.40.150 (HUH!).

Now obviously, if waistloss or iggybaby has joined me, they have nothing to celebrate. The server is using older WordPress technology and while I didn’t find any glaring honeypots or even firewalls, I would bet money I’m still being watched so that means he or she is too. Even worse, Servepath was rather insensitive to the fact that they were hosting about a dozen terrorist Web sites a few years back So, I guess, we’re in really bad company.

Greenlighon, themiddlemanager and waistloss now get normal WordPress.com addresses, but they shouldn’t jump with joy. Waistloss and the middlemanager both pass through an IP on the honeypot list and Mike E is in a class by herself.

His path uses a different honeypot-firewall system from waistloss and the middlemanager.

Incredible that what ever I said pissed them off enough to do that much work overnight and repeat it a second night..

Big Brother is obviously doing a lot more than watching.

Leave a Reply

