Day 5, Social Kryptonite, desk work and near failure.

We have a custom in our company where the boss cooks once a week when we are caught up and things are going well. (Probably about 1/3 the time.) Yesterday, I did parrot fish in lemon butter sauce with peppers,garlic, onions and spices. My senior employee cooked the rice ( mine comes out like library paste) and I did the lima beans. It was a glorious midday meal. (See Social Kryptonite.) Shortly before lunch, I found that the inventory sucked in every way possible. There were cash shortages caused by missing inventory and the analysis of how much was totally corrupted because the last two inventories were also misinterpreted.

Fortunately all the worksheets and raw data were there so the only person who could reconstruct it was me. This involves about 24 -32 hours of straight focused and very tedious work. So I did the obvious, I sat down with my oldest and best employees and went into eating overdrive. Every plate served by a West Indian is good for a couple of thousand calories more or less.

In terms of working at the desk, I couldn’t have been smarter. I didn’t move 6 inches from my desk for the rest of the day. However when I got home I recognized what I had done and had to wait 4 more hours for bed with only 2 glasses of wine and lots of club soda. I didn’t eat anything but I felt severe hunger pains and boredom as time passed slowly.

I held tough and this morning was 213.6

Not bad for a day at the desk.

Today will be another day at the desk and who knows what will happen to even my modified fast.

5 Responses to “Day 5, Social Kryptonite, desk work and near failure.”

  1. Mike E Says:

    Does desk-work include writing, John? I’m curious: How do your fasts effect your focus while word-crafting?

  2. waistloss Says:

    What exactly is a parrot fish? Never had it but would love to try it.

  3. fatsavage Says:

    The recipe above is sort of standard for any white meat reef fish caught in a fish trap or pot. They are also called pot fish. The parrot fish has buck teeth and is blue, yellow, orange and green and also called a blue fish but not to be confused with a North Atlantic blue fish. You could also do the same thing with grouper or snapper but the reason you use parrot fish is they are cheaper because of all the bones. Bake at 350 about 1/2 hour per inche of thickness in the pan.

  4. fatsavage Says:

    Mike E. You get a special answer hopefully tomorrow!

  5. Good Fasting and Bad Writing « The Gonzo Fat Savage Lifestyle Says:

    […] The Gonzo Fat Savage Lifestyle More than you want to know! Copyright Fat Savage 2006 « Day 5, Social Kryptonite, desk work and near failure. […]

Leave a Reply

