Out of the Closet – I’m Addicted to My Scale!

My relationship with my scale makes Monk look like an amateur when it comes to compulsive behavior. On the average day I probably weigh myself 10 to 20 times. When I don’t like my weight, I weigh myself 2 or 3 more times just to make sure it comes up with the same answer. I step on from a different angle or I place my feet in slightly different positions all in an effort to get a lower reading. In the old days of mechanical scales, you could play the scale for a 3-5 pound difference and get the answer you wanted after an all night binge.

With the new electronic sales, that type of activity doesn’t work but old habits die hard.

Seriously, I weigh myself before going to a party. I weigh myself after a party. (5-6 pound gain) and the unusual activity is in the middle of the night. Every time I get up for aspirin for chronic pain or to go to the toilet, I weigh myself and monitor my night time weight loss. By morning, after going to the bathroom I will have lost 3-5 pounds as my body sheds the excess indulgences from the day before. I can usually tell by 2 am if I will wake up with a gain or loss. Even in the morning I weigh myself before and after my trips to the bathroom. (0.6 pounds difference, if you really want to know.)

I know that most personal trainers, Oprah and the About experts suggest once a week or less, but I believe that is bullshit advice. I know that when I get in to the party, sedentary desk-jockey, night time couch potato mode instead of acting like the ADHD hyperactive person I am, the first thing I do is stop weighing myself at all because I won’t like the results. Who the hell wants to monitor failure on a long term basis?

I am glad to find out that professional paid science is once again beginning to catch up with armature meology. Recent reports of scientific research on the web and in the press, point out that daily weighing leads to greater weight loss. In a two year study, those who never weighed themselves gained 4 pounds, those who weighed themselves weekly lost 6 pounds and those who weigh themselves daily lost 12 pounds over the two years.

Now that’s exactly why I intend to weigh myself 10-20 times a day for the next year as part of my regime to lose 30 pounds and keep it off.

Oh well, looks like scaler addiction ain’t all that bad.

3 Responses to “Out of the Closet – I’m Addicted to My Scale!”

  1. waistloss Says:

    This would work for me if I wasn’t too heavy for the scale! Maybe if I went to one of those truck scales…

  2. fatsavage Says:

    You know the last time I went to a gym (pulled tendon from being overweight) they had a scale that could handle the both of us. You’re the gym freak not me and scale usage is part of your dues,

  3. Defibrilator Says:

    Hey Fatsavage

    Glad I’m not the only one who jumps on the scales at every opportunity. Well, as long as no-one is around 😉

Leave a Reply

