Choose Flavor not Fat!

About a week ago, the restaurant I was having breakfast at ran out of cream cheese and decided to make up for it by offering extra capers, onions and lox for my bagel. What the heck, I was gonna swim in their pool after breakfast so why not be nice. I tried it and found out I really didn’t miss the cream cheese because between the lox, capers and red onion, the rich flavor was there. Today, when I went for breakfast the waitress asked me if I wanted cream cheese or extra lox. I said neither – just bring the standard portion and hold the cream cheese. Net savings about 200 calories and it still tasted great.

Now I am a savage that loves to be pampered so on Saturday’s I go to the vegetable market and the selection in our cool winter is fantastic. Vine ripened tomatoes and cucumbers – fresh and locally grown. I also happened to pick up a star fruit, a sapodilla and a Chinese apple to reward myself. All three fruits were small less than 100 grams, all were perfectly ripe and I ate one of each as my daily snack without regard to calories because they were a pure, natural gift from God. I decided to look them up for health and calories but thats another story. Amazingly enough most Americans have eaten the products of 2 out of the 3 and the other one may be the healthiest of all.

I would have eaten them anyway – Great Flavor and no Fat.

3 Responses to “Choose Flavor not Fat!”

  1. kenwahfu Says:

    Hi,
    I think you are right regarding tomatoes and cucumbers. They are part of the vegetables family. Its better to eat vege than fatty food, because the former contain alot of minerals and antioxidants which helps to fight cancer and other diseases. It is also a good way to lose weight if you were to consime veges and fruits twice per day, each time you have your meal.
    If you practise this kind of diet for at least a week or two, you will surely notice the changes to your health as well as body weight.

    kenwahfu(health+harmony=prosperity)
    http://healthyrecipes2you.wordpress.com

  2. fatsavage Says:

    How about I eat them because they taste good compared to greasy chips cooked in trans-fat or twinkies.

  3. waistloss Says:

    I’ve seen a star fruit. Never heard of the others. Never eaten any of them. How about some pictures?

    Sometimes I slice tomatoes and cucumbers, sprinkle the with salt and pepper and drizzle them with a little vinegar. I put them in a bowl in a fridge and they keep me from grabbing something less healthy when I open the fridge for no reason.

Leave a Reply

