Thank God, I was 260 Pounds.

At 260 I was borderline morbidly obese, TFTF and almost a cripple after I pulled my groin tendon. I got in good enough shape to hang glide but started to get serous concerns for my weigh and fitness last August and dropped to just average obesity 225 pounds (BMI 34) fairly quickly and have been feeling reasonably fit ever since.

Now the first reason I’m glad I was 260 is because at 225, I’m feeling in much better shape. I went swimming twice a day with my grandchildren for the past 10 days; I climbed high hills through rough terrain, and walked the beach for miles. I’m not sure I ocould have done all of that at 260, so I’m glad I was 260 and am not any more.

Now what brought this to mind was when the 3 year old stubbed her toe on coral rubble along the coast and persevered until we were out about 1 1/2 miles out. When we started back the little trouper decide she wasn’t going to do it any more so my daughter asked me to carry the 40 pound fireplug. I started to laugh as I carried her for about 1/2 mile. Thank God I was not 260 pounds because 260 plus 40 is 300 pounds and I’m not sure the tendon could handle all that. On the other had, thank God I was 260, because my 225 and her 40 was no strain at all since I had had a lot of practice carrying that much weight around.

Thank God for little favors.

5 Responses to “Thank God, I was 260 Pounds.”

  1. body4god Says:

    This is the first time I’ve read your blog. I’ve enjoyed it. Keep up the good blogging!

    God’s Best,
    Russ

  2. waistloss Says:

    40lbs for 1/2 a mile? My arms would probably be all cramped up! I’m glad you are having that kind of success. It keeps me motivated!

  3. fatsavage Says:

    I’m not sure that I could do it with my own children. At the time that was womans work. Somehow grandchildren seem a lot lighter.

    Kidding aside, before my daughter kills me – I do have a fair amount of strength from my continuous physical activity and my love of manual labor. Even at 260, I remained active – I just needed to take a nap in the day before I would wake up and keep on going.

  4. Robin Says:

    They seem lighter just because they are your grandkids. My father acted like my daughter’s feet couldn’t touch the ground…and my mother took great pleasure in telling him that he let her do all the carrying with us.
    Even with all the cardio and working out I do I would never be able to carry either of my children for that length. Just think of it this way…you lost the same amount of weight as your grandchild…you lost a small child…a three year old. That is wonderful!!

  5. themiddlemanager Says:

    Great story! Those little miracles keep us going. 🙂

Leave a Reply

