My One Pack Buddha Belly Shape

Now I started worrying how many ripples in my abs when Robin at Limeade and Watermelon made a claim to a 3 pack ab rack. So every morning when I’m doing the Gestalt thing of admiring myself in the mirror and telling me how much better I am than yesterday, I started watching for visible abs under the Buddha Belly. I have been called Buddha Belly for a decade – even when I’m in shape.

I didn’t really see anything so I went to one of my other blog buddies over at The Middle Manager to expand my knowledge base and saw the term percentage body fat which I had never heard before. So fast on the Google, I found a quick formula which said I had 53 % body fat. and there probably isn’t any room for more than one ripple because I’m 53% fat. Now that answer was just plain stupid as I don’t have an ounce of fat on my legs, butt, shoulders or arms and while my wife and kids sometimes call me a fat head, I’m sure that that’s not the issue.

So being the never ending scientist, I found out you can calculate your percentage body fat if you know your density. Since I swim about twice a week, I know I slightly sink in fresh water and float in salt water so my density must be greater than 1 and less than 1.03. Since I only slightly sink in fresh water and definitely float in salt water that makes it closer to 1.0. When I stick that in the formulas it says somewheres around 43 to 45 percent which is close to 53%. Christ I’m half fat and don’t want to hear a discussion of the nazi’s rendering fat from human bodies to use as lamp oil just after the Iranian’s held a conference to say the holocaust never happened.

This is my most disgusting epiphany since I started blogging and I have my friends at The Middle Manager and Limenade and Watermellon to thank for guiding me down this path

5 Responses to “My One Pack Buddha Belly Shape”

  1. themiddlemanager Says:

    So, what you are saying is that instead of a six-pack, you are carrying a keg?

    Jokes aside – don’t fret. That’s what we are all here for, to support each other toward their goals. You have been making excellent progress on the weight loss.

    Look at this way, when you lose your weight, you can look back on that number and say you lost X percent and pounds of body fat – another way to tout the success of the Fat Savage lifestyle!

    Keep pounding away, and I will keep cheering you on!

  2. waistloss Says:

    I’m not sure what my body fat content is but it must be approaching my IQ by now. The last time the doctor tried to take some blood, he got a syringe full of gravy.

    You are on the right track and I am following in your footsteps so keep up the good work!

  3. Robin Says:

    The last time I remember getting my body fat measured was many years ago for a class in Nutrition and Fitness. I was positively disgusted…so I vowed to never again try to figure out what my lean mass vs fat percentage. It has taken me almost two years of trial and error to go from Weeble to Semi Lean. Just keep on doing what you are doing and eventually you will wake up one day and wonder if the fat fairy came by and did midnight liposuction on you. It seems like it happened overnight for me…I went to bed with a gut and the next morning it was gone. I so love reading your blog!!

  4. fatsavage Says:

    Thanks for the complement. I hit your blog daily and reading about you and Billy is about the closest I will get to him. The best part for me is your open admission of human failures and then just settling down and getting on with your life.

  5. Revisiting the Buddah Belly « The Gonzo Fat Savage Lifestyle Says:

    […] or later you beliefs will be validated by a different web page. Now when I first wrote about my one pack Buddha Belly, I had stumbled across a formula that said I was 53% fat. Further research at wikipedia indicated […]

Leave a Reply

