It’s Beginning to Feel a Lot Like Christmas!

Didn’t report, but Friday was actually a day of fasting even though I took a young college girl out to lunch. She ate half a chicken 1 1/2 cups seasoned rice, 4oz of beans and a Johnny cake. I had a glass of club soda. We had a great time catching up on the past 2 years. She didn’t care that I was fasting as she had done the fast and vegan thing after she gained the freshman 15.

For the day, I had 2 small tomatoes and at night 1/2 Cornish hen with a baked potato. Naturally, the Fat Savage put both butter and sour cream on it and washed it down with a bottle of chianti. While fasting during the day, I wasn’t terribly productive because I had to stop and purchase a new saw and had the two hour lunch break but it was enough to wake up at 219.6 lbs.

Yesterday, was a coffee, and big breakfast administrative day. It was planned as such because we had to satisfy all the pre-Christmas customers and also had the company Christmas party. I had 4 beers and the same lunch described above. After the party, I shopped and then my wife had the bright idea of going swimming on the winter solstices. It was chilly but not cold, so I actually swam for about 1/2 hour. This was all before 6 pm.

I skipped dinner and only had one glass of wine, watched Mary Poppens (The Original where everybody had ADHD) and loved it. This 40 year old classic has always been my model for parenting and raising children.

This morning I weighed in at 219.6 lbs and as I discussed with my Doctor yesterday morning, the new plateau reached by fasting appears stable. I can maintain it by mini fasts where I don’t eat all day and put out incredible amounts of energy doing manual labor on the days I skip breakfast and coffee.

I showed him the belt which I had been wearing since August which is down 5 inches and I am still officially obese. He suggests that if fasting all day causes me to do manual labor and I can afford the time away from the desk, there is a lot less harm in fasting and working hard than the is in abdominal obesity. I should just consider alternating the feast and famine to balance my needs for work or management. And why not start the new year with another fast to drop another 10 pounds.

Why Not Indeed?

Leave a Reply

