Fasting, Day 6 – Those damn weight loss plateau’s

Yesterday was a screwed up day. I started out with a strong mental commitment to fasting and manual labor. Both are hard enough without the mental commitment. I skipped coffee and when invited to a business breakfast, I had a fruit cup and tea. Imagine 1 day of temptation and self discipline.

After breakfast, my wife begged me to help organize the production at her business. She has to completely clean, press and individually wrap 3000 garments before Christmas. Now, the nine woman who work for her have a different focus as between the group about 2/3 are party animals and between the nine, they have 31 children. Once again all the ease of herding cats.

Managing is more of a focus job than manual labor and this should have been one of the days where I loaded up on a big breakfast and lots of coffee to sedate my hyperactive side (ADHD) into submission. But the mental commitment to fasting was already in place. By mid afternoon, I was constantly fidgeting, and trying to find physical things to do. The day would have been a total waste except for the ICVA which was pleasurable.

Now I continued my fast and despite eating nothing the day before, only had room for a very light meal (a bowl of soup and ¾ sandwich) and only ½ bottle of wine. This is the first time I ever left food on my plate in a restaurant. When I woke up this morning, I was 219.5, the same as yesterday.

The moral to the story is that with my body, there is no sense to starving if you can’t do manual labor.

Well today, I once again have to play manager so I quit the fast on purpose. This was actually planned while I spent the restless afternoon yesterday. Coffee, breakfast and managerial obligations will all be in sync. So we will see what tomorrow brings in terms of weight. I’m not too worried but I wouldn’t want to gain the 7.5 pounds That I lost with my six day fast.

3 Responses to “Fasting, Day 6 – Those damn weight loss plateau’s”

  1. waistloss Says:

    Wow! I really respect your ability to fast. It would definitely take more focus and willpower than I have to fast. But reading about what you have done does give me hope and inspiration. Keep up the great work! I will be back often!

  2. Greg Todd Says:

    Ditto to waistloss. I don’t know how you do it.

  3. Door Actuator Says:

    weight loss is sometimes difficult to attain, it all depends on your motivation and genetics `’.

Leave a Reply

